iPhone

I’m not going to resist writing about this device, but I will riPhone from Appleeserve my kudos of Apple’s iPhone for a later time. As many of us that have been around mobile devices know, and as was discussed by Karen Fasimpaur and Tony Vincent at the Mid-Atlantic Handheld Conference last summer, the convergence of devices typically diminishes some of the best features of a device. Only time will tell. These are my initial thoughts on the iPhone after watching the keynote presentation.

I am curious about the iPhone because of what I feel is a strong point for Apple, they control the software and the hardware for their products. I must admit that a mobile device running OS X is definitely worth a looksee. The new technology involved with this device is definitely intriquing with sensors that respond to basic uses such as the accelerometer (is this the same accelerometer in the Nike+iPod?), proximity detector and ambient light sensors. These are great innovations for mobile devices, but hardly a selling point for education. My cellphone has been difficult to get audio files (read podcasts) loaded. Hence the reason I still carry three devices, hey, call me Batman. I do like my iPod and have been playing a bit with a pretty cool tool shared by Will Richardson called MogoPop, which has, dare I say it, potential for learning via iPods. I didn’t come across anything about the iPhone being able to handle documents, spreadsheets and other files through the multi-touch screen. Of course, I assume it can still be used as a drive to carry all sorts of files. The 4GB to 8GB is to be expected for such a device, but hardly compares to the 30-80GB iPods some students in the schools in our area carry to class to transfer audio/video projects.

Chew on this:

  1. The fine print located at the bottom of the iPhone page: “This device has not been authorized as required by the rules of the Federal Communications Commission. This device is not, and may not be, offered for sale or lease, or sold or leased, until authorization is obtained.
  2. Developers are not welcome. What is great about the Windows Mobile OS and Palm OS is that it allows for third party developers for applications, which is very important for educators using mobile devices.

Whatdya think?

5 comments so far

  1. [...] Mobile Mind-ed Meanwhile, educators are still thinking about how to use the iPhone, and about the pros and cons of convergence in handheld devices, while… [...]

  2. Tony Vincent on

    I’ve read that Apple will control applications that can be loaded on the iPhone–just like they do with iPods. That really limits what can be done with it. I thought with running OS X, applications of all kinds could run on it. The good news is that it runs a full version of the Safari web browser, which should be able to run Java and Flash applications.

    Of course, schools are not going to be buying phones for their students. But, I hope we’ll see a widescreen, WiFi, internet-enabled iPod. Perhaps with add-on keyboards that use the dock connector…

  3. Tony Vincent on

    Oops! I just read that the browser won’t support Java or Flash. :-(

    http://pogue.blogs.nytimes.com/2007/01/11/the-ultimate-iphone-frequently-asked-questions/

  4. Brian C. Smith on

    Grrr… that’s strike two! :)

    Right about schools buying phones for students. When we talk about cellphones in schools there seems to be an avoidance of what the costs will be. Hmmm, I guess no one wants to tackle that one, huh? I don’t blame them.

  5. vic on

    I personally would rather carry my laptop around. I guess the iPhone is more for convenience. Plus, the Japanese market already have cell phones that are far more advanced than the iPhone. We Americans are already so in love with the iPhone and its “innovative” features, but we don’t realize how far behind we are.

    http://nationwideLD.com


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

